waiving of open-access fees

open access

Authors from developing countries submitting to IUCrData may apply for a full or 50% waiver of their open-access fees. Waiver requests must be made before submission of a data article. Successful applicants will be given a full or 50% waiver voucher valid for the submission of one data article.

For the purposes of waiving of fees, the correspondence author should be from a developing country with a small economy (with a GDP of less than USD 300 billion) that is in the World Bank's low income or lower-middle income categories. The correspondence author also needs to provide an institutional email address in the qualifying country.

The IUCr has limited funds available for waivers, as the provision of waivers means that we have less funding for activities such as supporting schools and education of young researchers. We therefore cap the number of times an author (contact, correspondence or co-author) can benefit from a waiver voucher in a particular year. The current cap level is ten articles per year. For any authors in waiver countries who wish to publish further articles than this in a year we will offer a discounted open-access fee.

Waiver requests should be sent to supportx@iucr.org. Authors should provide a copy of the manuscript with the request.

Authors from low income countries may apply for a 100% waiver of fees:

  • Afghanistan
  • Benin
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Congo, Dem. Rep.
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Gambia, The
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bisau
  • Haiti
  • Korea, Dem. Rep.
  • Liberia
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mali
  • Mozambique
  • Nepal
  • Niger
  • Rwanda
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan
  • Syrian Arab Republic
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Togo
  • Uganda
  • Yemen, Rep.

Authors from the following lower-middle income countries may apply for a 50% waiver:

  • Angola
  • Bangladesh
  • Bhutan
  • Bolivia
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Cape Verde
  • Comoros
  • Congo, Rep.
  • Côte d'Ivoire
  • Djibouti
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Eswatini
  • Ghana
  • Honduras
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Kyrgyz Republic
  • Lao PDR
  • Lesotho
  • Mauritania
  • Micronesia, Fed. Sts.
  • Moldova
  • Mongolia
  • Morocco
  • Myanmar
  • Nicaragua
  • Papua New Guinea
  • São Tomé and Principe
  • Senegal
  • Solomon Islands
  • Sudan
  • Timor-Leste
  • Tunisia
  • Ukraine
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Vietnam
  • West Bank and Gaza
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Follow IUCr Journals
Sign up for e-alerts
Follow IUCr on Twitter
Follow us on facebook
Sign up for RSS feeds