clay-organic complexes. The mineral Brindleyite, a nickel-bearing clay, was named in his honor by colleagues in Yugoslavia. He moved to the USA in 1953, serving as a research professor of mineral sciences at Penn State until 1955 when he became chairman of the Department of Ceramic Technology. In 1962, he was named Professor of Mineral Sciences and served in that capacity until his retirement in 1973. In 1970, the Mineralogical Society of America awarded him the Roebling Medal for his work on clay minerals. He was past president and distinguished member of the Clay Minerals Society, fellow of the American Ceramic Society, and an honorary member both of the French Society of Mineralogy and Crystallography and the Mineralogical Society of London. George Brindley wrote more than 300 research papers, including two editions of the book Crystal Structures of Clay Minerals and Their X-ray Identification.

Professor T. L. Blundell, Professor of Crystallography at Birkbeck College, London, Professor J. B. Pendry, Professor of Theoretical Solid State Physics at Imperial College, London, and Professor M. M. Woolfson, Professor of Physics in the University of York, have been elected as Fellows of the Royal Society.

Professor **David Harker** has been awarded the 1984 Gregory Aminoff gold medal and prize by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences for his fundamental contributions to the development of methods in X-ray crystallography. This is the fifth time that the Aminoff prize has been awarded. The first recipient being Professor P. P. Ewald in 1979, the second Sir Charles Frank in 1981 and the third and fourth to Professors G. Hägg in 1982 and J. M. Robertson in 1983.

Professor **D. W. Smits**, of the University Computer Centre, Groningen, The Netherlands, recently received the high, Royal Distinction of being appointed an Officer in the Order of Orange-Nassau on the occasion of his retirement as Director of the Computing Centre which he helped to create in 1964, and in recognition of his services to computing in The Netherlands and his participation in international scientific affairs. Professor Smits was General Secretary of the International Union of Crystallography from 1954 until 1966.

## International Union of Crystallography

J. Appl. Cryst. (1984) 17, 218

## Commission on Journals Changes in Editorial Boards

There have been several recent changes in the Editorial Boards of the IUCr journals and there will be further changes later in 1984.

Professor G. A. Jeffrey completed his term of office in September 1983 and Professor D. H. Templeton has resigned on his election as President of the American Crystallographic Association. Their successors are Professor C. E. Bugg, Professor James A. Ibers, Professor C. E. Nordman and Professor H. Steinfink. In addition, Professors J. Drenth and C. E. Bugg have been appointed as Netherlands and US Co-editors of *Acta Crystallographica*.

Professor M. Hart and Dr F. R. Ahmed complete their terms of office as Editor of *Journal of Applied Crystallography* and Co-editor of *Acta Crystallographica*, respectively, at the XIIIth Congress of Crystallography. The names of their successors will be announced in due course.