The uses of softer X-rays in structural studies

Journal of Synchrotron Radiation

ISSN 0909-0495

R. J. Cernik,^{a,b} J. R. Helliwell^{a,c} and M. Helliwell^c

^aCCLRC Daresbury Laboratory, Warrington WA4 4AD, UK, ^bCentre for Materials Science, The University of Manchester, Manchester M13 9PL, UK, and ^cSchool of Chemistry, The University of Manchester, Manchester M13 9PL, UK In September 2003 we organized a workshop, which was held at CCLRC Daresbury Laboratory, on *The Uses of Softer X-rays in Structural Studies* as a satellite to the UK Synchrotron Radiation Users' Meeting 2003. This workshop spanned instrumentation and methods for harnessing softer X-rays, and their applications in chemistry, biology, physics and materials science. The work presented involved crystallography, diffraction and spectroscopy techniques. The financial support for the expenses of the speakers, who came from around Europe, were covered by the EU Integrated Science Initiative for Synchrotron Radiation and FEL Science. The chance to publish the research papers and review articles from the workshop was then agreed with the Main Editors of the *Journal of Synchrotron Radiation*. A photograph of the workshop participants is given below. It has also proved possible to include, in this issue of the *Journal of Synchrotron Radiation*, a few other research papers which connect well with the workshop theme.



Speakers (most of) and participants (some of) at the workshop held at CCLRC Daresbury Laboratory in September 2003 as a satellite to the annual UK Synchrotron Radiation Users Meeting 2003. Front row, seated, left to right: Irit Sagi (The Weizmann Institute), John R. Helliwell (The University of Manchester and CCLRC Daresbury Laboratory), Madeleine Helliwell (The University of Manchester), Bob Cernik (CCLRC Daresbury Laboratory and The University of Manchester), Kristina Djinovich (Elettra, Trieste). Middle row, standing, left to right: Richard Jones (University of Keele), Pierre Rizkallah (CCLRC Daresbury Laboratory), Graham Bushnell-Wye (CCLRC Daresbury Laboratory), Venceslav Kaucic (National Institute of Chemistry, Ljubljana). Back row, standing, left to right: Mike Henderson (The University of Manchester and CCLRC Daresbury Laboratory), Heinrich Stuhrmann (IBS Grenoble), Manfred Weiss (EMBL Hamburg Outstation), Andy Smith (CCLRC Daresbury Laboratory), Kan-Cheung Cheung (CCLRC Daresbury Laboratory).