acts also as a hydrogen-bond donor, forming four NH...O bonds with two O atoms of a formate ion, one carbonyl O and one water O.

The formate ion and the urea molecule are nearly planar. The equations of these planes and deviations of atoms from them are given in Table 3. The average C-N distance of 1·324 Å is somewhat shorter than the corresponding distance, 1·352 Å, in tetragonal urea (Pryor & Sanger, 1970). Although the urea oxygen O(U) is involved in three hydrogen bonds, the six angles around this oxygen atom depart considerably from the tetrahedral angle, ranging from 74 to 148°.

All the hydrogen atoms of the water and urea molecules are ordered in the unique system of hydrogen bonds, in contrast to CFTH. The difference in dielectric behaviour between both compounds seems to be ascribable to the different schemes of hydrogen bonds. It was also confirmed that the magnetic properties described above are governed by the interaction between Cu²⁺ ions *via* bridging formate ions within each copper formate layer. The difference in hydrogenbonding schemes, however, may cause a significant difference in the interlayer magnetic interaction between CFTH and CFUH.

The authors thank Professor R. Kiriyama for stimulating discussions.

References

CHIDAMBARAM, R., SEQUEIRA, A. & SIKKA, S. K. (1964). J. Chem. Phys. 41, 3616–3622.

International Tables for X-ray Crystallography (1962). Vol. III, pp. 202–207 & 215. Birmingham: Kynoch Press.

JOHNSON, C. K. (1965). *ORTEP*. Oak Ridge National Laboratory Report ORNL-3794.

Kiriyama, R., Ibamoto, H. & Matsuo, K. (1954). *Acta Cryst.* 7, 482-483.

KISHITA, M. (1962). Nippon Kagaku Zasshi, 83, 264-267.

Kobayashi, H. & Haseda, T. (1963). J. Phys. Soc. Japan, 18, 541-550.

Kuroda, Y., Sasano, A. & Kubo, M. (1966). *Bull. Chem. Soc. Japan*, **39**, 1002–1006.

OKADA, K., KAI, M. I., CROMER, D. T. & ALMODOVER, I. (1966). J. Chem. Phys. 44, 1648–1653.

PRYOR, A. W. & SANGER, P. L. (1970). Acta Cryst. A26, 543-558.

STEWART, R. F., DAVIDSON, E. R. & SIMPSON, W. T. (1965). J. Chem. Phys. 42, 3175-3187.

UNICS Program System (1967). Edited by T. SAKURAI, Crystallographic Society of Japan.

International Union of Crystallography

Commission on Journals

The Commission on Journals held an extensive series of meetings in connexion with the Tenth General Assembly of the International Union of Crystallography, and makes the following announcements.

Composition of the Editorial Boards

Professor L. H. Jensen and Professor D. Mootz have retired as co-editors of *Acta Crystallographica*, and Professor M. M. Woolfson as book-review editor. The Commission is deeply grateful to them for their services to the crystallographic community. The Executive Committee has approved the appointments of Dr F. R. Ahmed, Professor G. Allegra, Professor H. Bärnighausen and Professor E. C.

Lingafelter as co-editors of *Acta Crystallographica*, and of Dr J. H. Robertson as book-review editor.

Four other co-editors have given notice of their intention to retire as soon as replacements can be found.

Notes for Authors

The Commission has decided to undertake a revision of *Notes for Authors*. Deposition of structure-factor tables will become the normal practice, and publication will take place only when the nature of the paper is such that immediate reference to the tables is necessary. Any suggestions for other changes in *Notes for Authors* would be welcome and should be sent to the Chairman of the Commission, Professor A. J. C. Wilson, Department of Physics, The University of Birmingham, Birmingham B15 2TT, England.