

Acta Crystallographica Section A Foundations of Crystallography

ISSN 0108-7673

## Ninth Ewald Prize

The International Union of Crystallography is pleased to announce that Professor E. Dodson (Department of Chemistry, University of York, UK), Professor C. Giacovazzo (Institute of Crystallography – CNR, Bari, Italy) and Professor G. M. Sheldrick (Lehrstuhl für Strukturchemie, Göttingen, Germany) have been awarded the ninth Ewald Prize for the enormous impact they have made on structural crystallography through the development of new methods that have then been made available to users as constantly maintained and extended software. Their invaluable contributions to computational crystallography have resulted in the leading program suites *CCP4*, *SIR* and *SHELX*, respectively. All over the world thousands of crystallographers benefit from their achievements on a daily basis.

The presentation of the Ewald Prize will be made during the Madrid Congress Opening Ceremony on 22 August 2011.



From left to right: Professor E. Dodson, Professor C. Giacovazzo and Professor G. M. Sheldrick.