Acta Crystallographica Section A Foundations of Crystallography

ISSN 0108-7673

Nominations for the Ewald Prize

The International Union of Crystallography is pleased to invite nominations for the Ewald Prize for outstanding contributions to the science of crystallography. The Prize is named after Professor Paul P. Ewald, in recognition of his significant contributions to the foundations of crystallography and to the founding of the International Union of Crystallography. Professor Ewald was the President of the Provisional International Crystallographic Committee from 1946 to 1948, the first Editor of the IUCr publication *Acta Crystallographica* from 1948 to 1959 and the President of the IUCr from 1960 to 1963.

The Prize consists of a medal, a certificate and a financial award, and is presented once every three years during the triennial International Congresses of Crystallography. The recipients to date are as follows:

Year	Place	Recipients
1987	Perth, Australia	Professor J. M. Cowley and Dr A. F. Moodie
1990	Bordeaux, France	Professor B. K. Vainshtein
1993	Beijing, China	Professor N. Kato
1996	Seattle, USA	Professor M. G. Rossmann
1999	Glasgow, UK	Professor G. N. Ramachandran
2002	Geneva, Switzerland	Professor M. M. Woolfson

The seventh Prize, for which nominations are now being invited, will be presented at the XX Congress in Florence, Italy, in August 2005.

Scientists who have made contributions of exceptional distinction to the science of crystallography are eligible for the Ewald Prize, irrespective of nationality, age or experience. The Selection Committee will give careful attention to the nominations of outstanding scientists who have not yet won a Nobel Prize. Either an exceptionally distinguished scientific career or a major scientific accomplishment may be recognized. Current members of the Selection Committee (see below) and the President of the IUCr are not eligible. No restrictions are placed on the time or the means of publication of the nominee's contributions. The Prize may be shared by more than one contributor, but not more than three, to the same scientific achievement.

Nominations for the Ewald Prize on the Ewald Prize Nomination Form should be submitted to the Executive Secretary, IUCr Secretariat, 2 Abbey Square, Chester CH1 2HU, England. The Nomination Form may be downloaded at http://www.iucr.org/iucr-top/iucr/ Ewaldform05.pdf. **The closing date for nominations is 31 August 2004.**

Selection Committee: M. Tanaka (Japan) Chair; E. Boldyreva (Russia); C. J. De Ranter (Belgium); S. Fortier (Canada); J. R. Schneider (Germany); X. Solans (Spain); Yu. Wang (Taiwan).

W. L. Duax President S. Larsen General Secretary