- 15 Molecular Structure Determination by Methods other than Diffraction
- 16 Symmetry and its Generalization
- 17 Data Handling and Communication
- 18 Crystallographic Teaching and the History of Crystallography
- 19 Industrial Crystallography.

On behalf of the Programme Committee, I now invite you to submit the proposals for:

Topics and speakers for Main Lectures

Topics, chairpersons and speakers for the Microsymposia Any revision of the list of categories Other matters concerning the scientific programme.

The following Satellite Meetings are planned:

- 1. Hefei School on Crystallographic Computing
- 2. Neutron Scattering
- 3. Powder Diffraction
- 4. Synchrotron Radiation in Crystallography

5. Molecular Structure.

All of these Satellite Meetings will be organized by, or in conjunction with, the relevant Commissions of the Union.

The memberships of the Programme Committee and Organizing Committee are given below.

Please send me your proposals by 28 February 1992, at the latest. This deadline is necessary to give adequate time for consultations before the scientific programme is finalized in mid 1992 by the Programme Committee. Replies received after 28 February will not be considered.

> XIAO-JIE XU Chairman of the Programme Committee

Programme Committee

Chairman: Xiao-jie Xu (China)

Members: A. Authier (France), W. L. Duax (USA), J. R. Helliwell (UK), W. G. J. Hol (The Netherlands), Y. Katsube (Japan), F. Liebau (Germany), Y. Le Page (Canada), V. I. Simonov (USSR) and J. W. White (Australia) Secretary: Lu-hua Lai

Organizing Committee

Chairman: Mei-cheng Shao

Vice-Chairmen: Jing-kui Liang and Jin-ling Huang Chief Secretaries: Tie-liang Wang, Hui Liu and Xiang-lin Jin

The address for Xiao-jie Xu and Mei-cheng Shao is:

Department of Chemistry Peking University Beijing 100871 China Fax: (861)2564095 Acta Cryst. (1992). A48, 78

Nominations for the Ewald Prize

The International Union of Crystallography is pleased to invite nominations for the Ewald Prize for outstanding contributions to the science of crystallography. The Prize is named after Professor Paul P. Ewald, in recognition of his significant contributions to the foundations of crystallography and to the founding of the International Union of Crystallography. Professor Ewald was the President of the Provisional International Crystallographic Committee from 1946 to 1948, the first Editor of the Union's publication *Acta Crystallographica* from 1948 to 1959 and the President of the Union from 1960 to 1963.

The Prize consists of a medal, a certificate and a financial award, and is presented once every three years during the triennial International Congresses of Crystallography. The recipients to date are as follows:

Year	Place	Recipients
1987	Perth, Australia	Professor J. M. Cowley and
		Dr A. F. Moodie
1990	Bordeaux, France	Professor B. K. Vainshtein.

The third Prize, for which nominations are now being invited, will be presented at the XVI Congress in Beijing, China, in August 1993.

Scientists who have made contributions of exceptional distinction to the science of crystallography are eligible for the Ewald Prize, irrespective of nationality, age or experience. The Selection Committee will give careful attention to the nominations of outstanding scientists who have not yet won a major prize. Either an exceptionally distinguished scientific career or a major scientific accomplishment may be recognized. Current members of the Prize Selection Committee and the President of the Union are not eligible. No restrictions are placed on the time or the means of publication of the nominee's contributions. The Prize may be shared by more than one contributor, but not more than three, to the same scientific achievement.

Nominations for the Ewald Prize should be submitted in writing, preferably using the Ewald Prize Nomination Form and accompanied by supporting documentation, to the Executive Secretary of the International Union of Crystallography, 5 Abbey Square, Chester CH1 2HU, England, from whom copies of the Nomination Form, the names of the Selection Committee and advice on the submission of nominations may be obtained. The closing date for nominations is 31 August 1992.

A. AUTHIER President A. I. HORDVIK General Secretary