International Union of Crystallography

Election of Officers of the Union and Chairmen of Commissions

Professor N. Kato was elected President of the International Union of Crystallography at the Eleventh General Assembly of the Union, which was held in Warsaw in August. The full membership of the Executive Committee of the Union until mid 1981 is as follows: President — Professor N. Kato, Vice-President — Professor A. J. C. Wilson, General Secretary and Treasurer — Professor S. E. Rasmussen, Immediate Past President — Professor A. Magnéli, Ordinary Members — Dr F. R. Ahmed, Professor E. F. Bertaut, Professor J. Karle, Professor H. Neels, Dr S. Ramaseshan, Dr V. I. Simonov.

Dr S. C. Abrahams was reappointed Editor of Acta Crystallographica and Chairman of the Commission on Journals. Professor M. Hart was appointed Editor of the Journal of Applied Crystallography and Co-Chairman of the Commission on Journals, succeeding Professor R. A. Young who has retired as Editor of this journal. Professor Y. Saito and Professor H. Schulz were appointed as Co-editors of Acta Crystallographica and Professor H. Bärnighausen, Professor Z. G. Pinsker and Professor S. Takagi have retired. Professor P. M. de Wolff has retired as a Co-editor of the Journal of Applied Crystallography. Professor J. Trotter was reappointed as Editor of Structure Reports. The appointment

of Professor Th. Hahn as Editor of International Tables was extended until the end of 1978. Professor K. V. J. Kurki-Suonio was elected Chairman of the Commission on Charge, Spin and Momentum Densities. Dr E. Kaldis was elected Chairman of the Commission on Crystal Growth, Professor S. Abrahamsson was elected Chairman of the Commission on Crystallographic Apparatus. Dr R. Diamond was elected Chairman of the Commission on Crystallographic Computing. Dr D. G. Watson was re-elected Chairman of the Commission on Crystallographic Data. Dr S. C. Abrahams became Chairman of the Commission on Crystallographic Nomenclature as a result of being reappointed Chairman of the Commission on Journals. Professor S. Akimoto was elected Chairman of the Commission on Crystallographic Studies at Controlled Pressures and Temperatures. Professor A. Authier was elected Chairman of the Commission on Crystallographic Teaching. Professor K. Kuchitsu was re-elected Chairman of the Commission on Electron Diffraction and Dr D. Cox was elected Chairman of the Commission on Neutron Diffraction.

The full membership of the Commissions of the Union, and the Union representatives on other bodies, will be given in the Report of the Eleventh General Assembly and International Congress of Crystallography, which will be published in Section A of Acta Crystallographica in due course.

International Union of Crystallography

Prices of Acta Crystallographica and Journal of Applied Crystallography

The Executive Committee of the International Union of Crystallography has found it necessary to increase the yearly subscription rates and also the prices of back numbers for *Acta Crystallographica* and *Journal of Applied Crystallography* as from 1 January 1979. Every endeavour has been made to keep these increases to a minimum.

Acta Crystallographica

The following rates will apply for Volumes A35 and B35 (1979). All subscription rates are fixed in Danish kroner, and the US dollar equivalents given below are subject to exchange-rate fluctuations and amendment without notice.

Complete volumes, regular price per volume

Sections A & B		
(combined subscription)	Dkr 2060	(\$ 382.00)
Section A only	Dkr 515	(\$ 96.00)
Section B only	Dkr 1735	(\$ 322.00)

Complete volumes, reduced price for individuals Sections A & B

(combined subscription)	Dkr	850	(\$ 158.00)
Section A only	Dkr	215	(\$ 40.00)
Section B only	Dkr	720	(\$ 134.00)

All subscribers in the USA and Canada should add to the above subscription rates the additional charges for air-freighting as mentioned below.

The reduced-rate subscriptions are ordinarily only available to members of recognized scientific societies, and applications must be accompanied by a written undertaking that the journal is for the personal use of the subscriber and will not be made available to libraries, institutions, etc. These conditions also apply to persons wishing to order back numbers at the reduced rates.

Single parts

The prices of single parts	are as follows:	
Vol. A35	Dkr 130	(\$ 24.00)
Vol. B35	Dkr 215	(\$ 40.00)